Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Yay for Sun Ray

As anyone who reads what I write here probably knows, I’ve spent the last 2 weeks in China, in two different offices in Beijing and one on Shanghai.

Some months back I installed Sun Ray server on my workstation in Sydney (as I prefer to run on relatively current nevada builds, rather than the Solaris 10 builds that IT Ops provides) and moved over to using a Sun Ray appliance both on my desk and at home.

I’ve been very happy with the ease of use of being able to transfer my work session home.

I’ve been even more happy with being able to transfer it to the various offices in China!

I just put my card in, it throws me to the Sydney ITops server that I would normally connect to, and I just utswitch from there to my own server. It all just works. What’s more I’ve found working from Beijing very little different speedwise to working from home. It’s all quite usable.

Technorati Tags:
,
,

Written by Alan

May 23, 2008 at 4:01 am

Posted in Solaris

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What kind of speed are you getting using it?
    My SunRay 2 is nearly useless. I mean, everything works, but more than a pageful of display becomes a drag – all of a sudden, you can see it *drawing* on the screen.
    This brings the whole experince to about slightly-worse-than using a SunBlade 100 (which is what my workstation is).
    The SunRay server is a T2000, and barely under load, too.
    Could the network be the bottleneck?

    UX-admin

    May 23, 2008 at 4:38 am

  2. UX-admin
    have a chat with the sun ray mail list
    http://www.filibeto.org/mailman/listinfo/sunray-users
    been using it fine with sun ray 1 with vpn box.

    kangcool

    May 23, 2008 at 1:31 pm


Comments are closed.

