Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of a former Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Toy Recall – HOLY CRAP

I just had my dad call me to tell me about this toy recall.

The toy (Bindeez Craft Beads) won the Australian Toy of the year award! Now they find that

“The colourful beads contain the same chemical as the illicit drug GHB, otherwise known as ‘fantasy’ […] the product actually contains 1,4-butanediol […] When metabolised, 1,4-butanediol converts into GHB.”

My (almost) 9 year old daughter loves playing with these things!!!

Sometimes as a parent I have the absolute sh*t scared out of me.

I will be packing these up to be returned as soon as I get home!

Written by Alan

November 6, 2007 at 1:07 am

Posted in Kids

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my gosh, how did that end up in the beads?! Yes, it is scary to be a parent. So many things can go wrong. But so many things can go right too…

    melanie gao

    November 6, 2007 at 3:51 am

  2. GHB is naturally occuring in the body and non-toxic. It used to be used medically (and still is for treating narcolepsy) until some people found that it gives you a nice drunk feeling. Nothing to worry about unless the beads full of it in liquid or powder form, which I doubt.

    dan

    November 6, 2007 at 4:00 pm


Comments are closed.

