Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

A Sad week for Australia

This week Australia has lost two icons.

You all would have heard about Steve Irwin and the young family he has left behind.

Today I discovered that an icon that I grew up watching race died in a racing accident today.

While I’m not heavily into car racing, I grew up with Peter Brock otherwise known as Peter Perfect as one of my heroes. His performance at Mount Panorama in the Bathurst 1000 (formerly the Hardie Ferodo 500) earned him the undisputed title King of the Mountain. In seven appearances, he won six of them including one by six laps.

Respected by many, Peter will certainly be missed.

Written by Alan

September 7, 2006 at 11:33 pm

Posted in General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen to that.
    Steve…as much as he hasnt impacted my life, did a lot for tourism in our nation and as has been said was a great ambassador for this country.
    Brock was more of an Australian hero, he inspired many Australians who chose motorpsort as a career or a hobby.
    this has been a surreal week here in Australia…I think you have to be an Australian to understand what it feels like to lose these two great men.

    che

    September 8, 2006 at 5:08 am

  2. Iconic deaths come in three – don’t forget that Colin Thiele died on 4 September as well. Conservationist / environmentalist, sports person and literarary genius…all gone within weeks of each other.

    David Lloyd

    September 8, 2006 at 9:17 pm

  3. Over in China there is a statue of Bruce Lee. A man much misunderstood and talked about a great deal since his death. He managed to deliver a different vision of the sterotypical asian to the world when it was desperately needed.
    Steve Irwin, in my mind, is the second man to totally personify what a classic Aussie is to me. I am on the other end of the planet and I see Australia in perhaps a very old fashioned light; a distant and wild place larger than life where no mere mortal should walk. People may say the same thing about Northern Canada.
    I see Paul Hogan ( Crocodile Dundee – 1986 ) and Steve Irwin as perhaps the epic versions of what a true Aussie is; tough to the core but with a deadly fast wit that can make anyone laugh. The only other role models that I can draw on are from the ThornBirds. And movies like The Odd Angry Shot which were great in the officers mess during my army days.
    I don’t understand the world.
    I really don’t.
    This man was a family man that had a heart as big as the Australian outdoors. He always had a smile and more depth of character than, well geez, than most anyone I can think of. Why the heck did he have to die in the prime of life?
    The world is a poorer, quieter and dull dry place without him.
    Someone needs to create a statue of Steve Irwin that stands in the wilds and grins it boldly back.
    Dennis Clarke
    http://www.blastwave.org

    Dennis Clarke

    September 8, 2006 at 9:42 pm

  4. I remember rushing to turn on “Crocodile Hunter” on Animal Planet (I am from the US). I always loved seeing Irwin on the TV screen, because he taught the world a lot about not only crocodiles and alligators, but many other forms of life as well. He was shown a lot with his family, a rarity on most of today’s TV shows. I think what really set him apart was his passion and ability to understand the animals he worked with. I wish his family well.

    Michael Hayes

    September 22, 2006 at 11:03 pm


Comments are closed.

