Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of a former Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Coming up for air

I know it’s been a bit since I’ve written anything here. It’s been pretty hectic what with the reshuffle and RIFS and tryng to get the day job done as well.

As of last week I have a new (old) manager (well basically I’m back under the manager I had before my last one) and part of a new group called The Systems Technology Service Centre – I’ll update the title of the blog sometime soon.

I’ve managed to put back the fix into Solaris 8 and 9 for a very long running pair of escalations and once the fixes and the Sun-Alert for those are out I might talk a little more about them.

It’s also that time of year to start working on the coming years performance map and development plan, which has been consistantly preempted over the past few weeks with warmish calls including getting phone calls at all hours of the day and night for queries on the progress of them.

On top of which the floor I work on in Sydney is being completely refurbished. This means that although it looks like the end result is that I geographically won’t move, if I wanted to work out of the office during this time I’d have to relocate while the work was being done and then relocate back once it was. I’ve elected to pack up only once and spend a few weeks working from home after beefing up the ultra 60 a little to now have a pair of 360MHz cpus and 2gb of memory (and brought it up to build 46 of nevada).

I must say that I was incredibly impressed with Prentice Hall. On July 27 (a Thursday) I ordered the two new Solaris Internals books for my group, got an amazing discount and surprisingly cheap international shipping, and had them show up the following Monday (July 31). Wow. Thanks Prentice Hall.

I wanted to say something about Dan Frye’s Open Solaris remarks, but I seriously doubt that I could have put it better than Bryan did. From where I am sitting it looks to me like Dan tried to lead some public opinion on Sun bashing and had a major backfire. The comments on slashdot in particular were damning. I won’t say anymore on this as I don’t want to give such ill-considered FUD any more undeserved credence. If you are interested in what others wrote, Jim Grisanzio compiled a list of pointers.

I’ve really got to get back to this call I’m working on now (yes I know it’s Saturday here, but I’m on call this weekend). Hopefully I’ll get more blogging time real soon.

Written by Alan

August 18, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Posted in General

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep, I’ll second the comments about Prentice Hall : I ordered both internals books as well, and received them in exactly 3 days, international shipping from the US – which means they’re actually performing better than Amazon in my book! (sorry, no pun intended 🙂

    Tim Foster

    August 19, 2006 at 1:11 am


Comments are closed.

