Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Try and Buy T2000

It’s kind of a shame that as an employee I’m not eligible1, I’d love to have one of these at for myself. If I were eligible I’d point to the analysis of a performance issue that I blogged a few months back here and here. Oh well.

Now one thing that I have noticed here is that the deal is not just available in the US. Unusually, I notice that it’s also available out here in Australia2. I would certainly encourage folks to take advantage of the 60 day try before buying offer as this is a seriously cool piece of hardware that is incredibly well suited to a large number of datacentre loads; as well as dropping the power drain, and getting the great features available under Solaris 10.

The playing I’ve done on this platform shows it to be a great little performer.


  1. At least I would assume this would be the case
  2. The full list of countries that it is available in is Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom (Great Britain)and the United States.
  3. Advertisements

Written by Alan

March 17, 2006 at 12:08 am

Posted in General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool, thanks Alan for the link. I didn’t even bother at the beginning to check thinking this is US only.
    Im located in Finland so I just have placed my order…lets see if I can get one unit 🙂

    stefan parvu

    March 17, 2006 at 8:53 am

  2. Glad I could help Stefan 🙂
    Alan.

    Alan Hargreaves

    March 19, 2006 at 7:43 pm

  3. Sad: actually our office in Finland forward me the following info:

    * IMPORTANT NOTE FOR CONSUMERS/INDIVIDUALS:
    …used for pre-authorization and subsequent billing, if the system is purchased. Consumer applications and credit card processing is only available in the following countries: Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, UK and US. For the other Try & Buy Program countries, consumer applications are not able to be processed at this time.

    Blah the program is not supported in Finland for individuals 😦 Next time then.

    Stefan Parvu

    March 21, 2006 at 2:41 am

  4. Hello Alan,
    I found out about T&B on Jonathan’s Blog. I am not a Sun employee and for the most part I seemed qualified. I had a little quirk with my e-mail system and was unable to get e-mails for a few days. I suspect that Brady in accounting/marketting (One of those) and the other Sun employee just gave up on me for one reason or another. I wasn’t aware that they used credit cards to validate eligability, what a shame, I don’t own any credit cards. I can assert that I have atleast 2500 dollars available in the bank plus enough collateral hardware that I personally own, but of course this is not enough. Tis a shame, to quote one of the e-mail’s, “You are just the kind of guy we’ve been looking to try one of these” ; I’m a shell account provider, I work off of donations and personal money, am not an official non-profit agency, and have never even gotten one single donation nevertheless. Too bad, I do like Sun, own an Ultra 2 and a few x86 boxes here running Solaris 10 and OpenSolaris Nevada, that T2000 would had been sweet to try and possibly own (Some people can get it permanently if they benchmark it according to various Sun blogs). Any ideas on what I should do if I don’t have any credit? (I’m not below/negative) Otherwise this is just plain sad!

    James Cornell

    April 2, 2006 at 4:43 pm


Comments are closed.

