Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Problems registering at revision3

I was trying to register at revision3 and ran into some problems.

Mainly it looks like it will not accept a “period” inside an email address as a valid email address.

OK, I thought, I’ll just drop then a note and see if they can get it fixed.

The only way that I can find to leave a message anywhere on the site is through the forums. Unfortunately, you need to be registered to post.

I tried dropping a reply to a blog entry by Kevin Rose at twit.tv but I guess he’s not seen it.

If anyone who can contact these guys reads this blog could they point out the email registration problem for me and let me know when it’s fixed?

While we’re at it, ‘+’ is also a valid character in an email address. Many mail agents ignore characters between the ‘+’ and the ‘@’ allowing you to put strings in there that can either help you filter email based on the “To” address, or even simply put a string in when you use an email address to register for something so you can track if they’ve passed your address on.

Written by Alan

September 23, 2005 at 1:32 am

Posted in General

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I posted your entry and a link to it on the rev3 forum.

    Gary Brooks

    September 27, 2005 at 1:15 pm


Comments are closed.

