Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Nailing Down a Troll

#opensolaris was invaded by a troll today. Not the first time,
certainly won’t be the last. What is interesting is that we managed to
nail this one down on a timeframe for one of his predictions (well he
appears to believe that it’s a fact).

Philv (I’ve saved the email address and full name so I can remind this
individual of his comments in 8 months time)
firmly believes that in 8 months or less from the posting of this blog
entry that Microsoft will buy Sun.

The conversation excerpts from #opensolaris at freenode.org follows.

philv: Much better than Sun's, otherwise SUN wouldn't be in talks with
Microsoft over a buyout
philv: Microsoft is buying SUN.
Tpenta: references?
philv: The Wallstreet Journal
Tpenta: url please
philv: I don't read online news, it could be hacked.
philv: No, you just wait and see.
philv: And when I turn out to be right, you'll all be crying.
philv: And I'll be laughing
Tpenta: ok phil. put up or shut up time. Give me a time frame. If the
time frame elapses, I'd like to see an admission of "oops i was
wrong"
philv: Tpenta: 8 months.
philv: Maybe less.
Tpenta: ok, so in 8 months I *expect* to see an oops I was wrong from
you if it does not occur, correct?
philv: No, because FreeNode will be gone by then.
Tpenta: Phil. I'm posting a blog entry on this today, I will be bringing
this up again (with your name) in 8 months time, you will only
need to comment on the blog

It will be interesting to see what Philv has to say in 8 months time.

Philv, you will note that I have kept your name and email address out of this entry. I’ll grant you that much in the way of privacy, but you should expect an email in eight months from today. By the way, if you turn out to be correct, I will be more than happy to say “Oops I was wrong”.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Written by Alan

June 29, 2005 at 10:35 pm

Posted in General

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how will you say you are wrong? once microsoft buys sun all this bloggary will be gone!

    philv

    June 30, 2005 at 11:12 pm

  2. Way to nail down the troll! Remember that you need to use acid or fire to kill it! Magic Missile won’t just cut it. Remember, troll is a woodland being.

    j_jenz

    June 30, 2005 at 11:16 pm

  3. Phil, if that’s the case then you have nothing to worry about will you. You can feel free to gloat.
    For my part I expect to be dropping you an email in March.
    Alan.

    Alan Hargreaves

    June 30, 2005 at 11:28 pm

  4. I’m sorry but, I’m just wondering, do those guys actualy believe in what they are saying? I just wonder about the thought pattern that leads to conclusions such has this one (and the urge to vomit them to other people, …). Was this a funny remark in some kind of (strange) context?

    Jaime Cardoso

    July 4, 2005 at 1:30 pm

  5. Sun and Microsoft are based in the USA, would the SEC even allow a buyout between a convicted monopolist and the #1 UNIX and Opteron vendor?

    Anon

    July 12, 2005 at 9:42 pm


Comments are closed.

