Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of a former Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Non-debug builds of Open Solaris not far away

Open Solaris

I’ve been having a look at what needs to happen to make this work. My main aim in doing this is to make good application of the KISS Principle. I wanted to make minimal change for the best effect.

I’ve had the answer for bfu and Install for a while now (and the modifications to those are only a matter of a few lines with some smart ksh variable substitution), but it was waiting on us coming up with a simple way of generating the closed binaries tarchive for both the debug and non-debug builds.

A few ideas had occured to me, but they all had largish changes to the way things worked involved, and I really didn’t want to go that way.</P

This morning on the way into the office (on my 90 minute train ride), I think I may have come up with an answer.

Without going in to too much detail (as I haven’t had a chance to speak to Mike Kupfer about it yet), it should involve a pretty simple addition to the build() function in nightly.sh script to generate the tarchives as a part of a normal nightly run inside Sun if the appropriate flag is set in the environment script for nightly.sh.

Mike already has a script for generating the debug tarchive. If we run this during a nightly on a non-debug build, we should end up with a non-debug set of closed binaries. This will definitely help with folks already attempting to benchmark!

With luck we might have this going shortly.

Technorati Tag:

Written by Alan

June 23, 2005 at 2:15 am

Posted in OpenSolaris

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi, alan, how to add recent post entries, in the weblog? the default themes seems does not include this features at all. thanks.

    gorden

    June 27, 2005 at 2:41 am


Comments are closed.

