Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Front Page News: Kylie Minogue’s Clothes are of International Importance!

I made a mistake this morning. I had a look at the front page of the Sydney Morning Herald while I had a mouthful of breakfast cereal. It was all I could do to keep the cereal in my mouth. The article that I saw is titled Kylie, cheek by jowl with the masterpieces.

It features a photo of Gold hotpants on a manniquin.

According to various people quoted in the article, Kylie’s clothes are not only “Culturally Significant”; they are of “great national and international importance”.

The cartoon down the bottom (poor choice of words there) page is not bad either.

I mentioned this article on an irc channel and got the following response:

Alan you just made me spit out my drink all over my iBook!

I think a few of the people quoted in this “news” take themselves just a little too seriously.

Hmmm, must be a slow news day.

Update

I’ve just been told that the Sydney Morning Herald requires registration. I must have registered some time ago and forgotten about it. It’s a free registration.

Technorati Tag:

Written by Alan

May 12, 2005 at 5:40 pm

Posted in General

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Culturally significant? I wonder what that says about the culture. Nothing good I fear. 🙂

    David Rowland

    May 12, 2005 at 6:08 pm

  2. Quality press we have in this country, innit?

    Boyd Adamson

    May 12, 2005 at 7:59 pm


Comments are closed.

