Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of a former Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Yet Another Nigeria Scam Email

I tend to get at least a few of these each day. This one stuck out as the author purported to be Mrs Deborah Harry from the UK.

Maybe It’s just the generation that I come from, but I would have thought that a really bad name to use if you wanted any kind of credibility. For goodness sake, Deborah Harry was the singer in Blondie, who were hot while I was at school. The name jumped out at me immediately!

I don’t know what is more frightening.

  1. The stupidity of the scammers
  2. The fact that people actually fall for this scam and lose very large sums of money

Maybe it is just my generation for the recognition of the name. I mentioned it to a (much younger) colleague and just got a blank look.

Written by Alan

January 12, 2005 at 8:42 pm

Posted in General

