Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Solaris Express 10/04 is coming

Solaris Express 10/04 (s10_69) should be available for download around October 29!

Some of the new features for the release include:

  • Solaris Service Manager(Greenline)
  • JDS Release 3
  • Oban (Solaris Volume Manager for SunCluster)
  • Ipsec/IKE NAT traversal
  • OpenSSL and PKCS#11 for OpenSSL
  • Hardware Random Number Generation support
  • Failed Account Login Account Locking
  • Track Uptime across reboots
  • Solaris 1394 Mass Storage Driver-x86
  • Remove Netscape4.7xin Solaris *Mozilla 1.4 removal
  • Xorg replaces Xsun as the default X server on x86
  • DTrace USDT (User-land Statically Defined Tracing) and plockstat Provider
  • New Realtek NIC driver

As usual, the documentation will be available at docs.sun.com.

Greenline and the Xorg transition are likely to cause a little frustration. Greenline because it is such a complete mindset change, and Xorg in getting the configurations correct. I am expecting to see some of the respective engineers blogging on at least these two over the next few weeks.

Written by Alan

October 26, 2004 at 12:19 am

Posted in Solaris Express

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Alan,
    So is there no web browser in Solaris 10 now?

    Richard Skelton

    October 26, 2004 at 5:05 am

  2. Richard, I’d say that there could be a possibility that Firefox *maybe* embraced by SUN, either that or some other Mozilla derived version like Netscape (spit).

    kaiwai

    October 26, 2004 at 8:13 am

  3. Alan,
    no ZFS?

    Tao

    October 26, 2004 at 8:47 am

  4. [Trackback] So, I’m looking at the next round of changes to be introduced to Solaris 10 via the 10/04 Express release, and I’m struck by the continued presence of sendmail in Solaris. I just don’t understand it. Does anyone willingly deploy sendmail anymore? Ce…

    VMUNIX Blues

    October 26, 2004 at 12:13 pm

  5. Hi,
    Yes, yes, yes ! =)
    Kinda ironic that its released in the middle of my HSC
    Hargraves: (since you’re Australian) ?
    Anyway, I shall promise myself that I won’t play with this until after my exams. Yeah. Right =).
    Nobody had better submit this to slashdot before I get a chance to download it….
    Bye,
    Victor

    Victor Hooi

    October 26, 2004 at 9:15 pm

  6. Richard, actually Solaris 10 includes Mozilla 1.7.
    It’s part of the JDS Release 3 that Alan mentioned.

    David Comay

    October 26, 2004 at 11:00 pm

  7. Mozilla 1.7 forms a part of JDS3.
    alan.

    Alan Hargreaves

    October 27, 2004 at 5:36 pm

  8. I have some folks here that can hardly wait to try JDS3’s connector to Outlook as soon as I get a jumpstart image stood up. Unfortunately, I just tried the downloaded zip files for 10/04: the first one (contrary to my results with 8/04) caused cdrw -i to barf on my Sun-blade (with an external plextor burner). I also tried to simply unwrap them using lofiadm, mount and find … cpio. Slice 1 (referenced by a symlink) is supposed to contain the Tools/Boot, but was nowhere to be found. I’m quite certain that my blog notes (internal, sorry, can’t share, much legal gobbledygook could follow, I will spare you) were sufficient, but it simply didn’t work the way I recall doing this last time. Any suggestions? Anyone else have a different experience with the ISO images after download? Should I (shudder) ask one of the Windows folks here with a burner and commercial software for an assist?

    Mark Michael

    November 1, 2004 at 5:28 pm

  9. The image is actually a number of slices, so unfortunately you can’t look at it with lofi (yet – I logged an rfe on this some time ago).
    I’m kind of surprised at it causing cdrw to barf, as I have not heard of this happenning to anyone else.
    I’d be going with finding the simplest way to get the image cut. What I was doing for a while was using a set of cdrws (as against a set of cdrs), so I didn’t end up with a new set of coasters every few weeks. It also mitigates buring coasters. I was doing this on the Solaris notebook with no trouble at all.

    Alan Hargreaves

    November 1, 2004 at 5:46 pm

  10. Yup, I also tried to use cdrw on the 8/04 ISO again, just in case something else in my setup had become frobozzed.
    Worked perfectly.
    Mounted all six slices in vold no sweat.
    cdrw still barfs on a zer0-length message.
    I would guess that the VTOC is fried, slice 1 is non-existent, or both.
    Thanks for noticing my post! The wonders of the ‘Net … 🙂

    Mark Michael

    November 2, 2004 at 10:20 am

  11. apologied for following up my own post, just to clarify … cdrw _works_ on 8/04 perfectly, but _fails_ every time on 10/04 vol 1, works perfectly on 10/04 vol2, etc.

    Mark Michael

    November 2, 2004 at 10:21 am

  12. Problem solved … let’s just say that I’m a complete idiot. It’s working now. … sorry to have taken up bandwidth in my desperation.

    Mark Michael

    November 5, 2004 at 12:02 pm

  13. Will Solaris X contain any updates to Xprint, too? The Solaris 9 version is quite poor compared to the version in X11R6.8.0 – no OpenGL support, no font download, etc.

    Julien

    November 24, 2004 at 5:39 am


Comments are closed.

