Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of an Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Jonathan’s in town

Jonathan is in Sydney this week and I managed to get to hear him speak.

I must say his enthusiansm is infectious. One of the challenges that he presented to the folk present was “Why are you here?”. That is, why are you still working for Sun. I’m happy to say that some of the reasons that he gave echo mine very closely.

  • I truly love the work that I am doing. If I didn’t I’d move elsewhere.
  • I have faith in Sun. I think that we now have some incredible technology, both in our hardware and software offerings. I believe that we can now provide solutions that our competitors simply cannot match.
  • I know that we have some incredible people working for this company. Some true visionaries.
  • By doing my damndest for Sun, in the area that I work in (Support Services), I am doing my part to bring this company back into profitability, which then helps me to provide for my family’s future.

Everything that I am seeing is telling me that we do have an incredible future in front of us. Sun has been written off before, and each time it has re-invented itself and come back stronger. I feel like we are nearing the end of the re-invention and our competitors are going to have to watch themselves, or end up eating our dust!

On a side note, it was great to actually meet Jonathan, shake his hand and congratulate him on the work he is doing. Keep it up mate, and enjoy your time down-under!

Written by Alan

October 10, 2004 at 10:14 pm

Posted in General

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Every point that you listed under “Why Sun’s a great place to work” is worth a ton of gold,Alan. The other “technology powerhouse”s can’t even imagine having the kind of technologies & (importantly) the visionaries that make sun what it is. And Sun owes Jonthan a lot for bringing back the faith & energy that sun needed to come back stronger. Keep up the good work mate.

    Bharath Ravi Kumar

    November 18, 2004 at 12:19 am


Comments are closed.

