Alan Hargreaves' Blog

The ramblings of a former Australian SaND TSC* Principal Field Technologist

Claire Giordano starts blogging

Claire is part of the driving force behind open sourcing Solaris. I look forward to seeing what she has to say in this public forum. I can only agree with the “going through uni” sentiments.

I started at Newcastle doing a Computer Engineering degree. After a year of that I decided that this wasn’t really what I wanted and I changed to a B.Math, where at the time, the only CompSci related stuff was going on. During my time doing that I started working for them adminning Edition 7 unix boxes. Anyway, as soon as they formed the B.CompSc degree, I was in there and that’s what I ended up with.

A big part of my education was source code access. We had the full V7 source, and did a lot of hacking to it. Gone are the days of a 64k kernel ;). While working there, I was one of the five folks listed on the SunOS 4 source licence and that also allowed a lot of learning and customising of software for the uni. For example, we hacked a page charging system into lpd and worked up a method of distributing it to other Sun boxes on campus in such a way as to not breach the terms of the license.

Yes, I think using tonic to get back to our roots of having our source used for teaching would be a damn good thing.

Anyway I’ve added Claire to my list of bookmarks on this blog.

Written by Alan

August 15, 2004 at 1:50 am

Posted in Solaris

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first step could be the last step for Sun. If Sun doesn’t use a true open source license, that’ll be the end of the project. Hopefully no one is being stupid and letting the lawyers write a lame closed license pretending to be open.

    Anonymous

    August 15, 2004 at 1:56 pm

  2. One of the top priorities is to ensure that the license is OSI compliant. I would hope thath this would be sufficient.

    Alan Hargreaves

    August 16, 2004 at 4:51 pm


Comments are closed.

